The 2022 regular season has come to an end. The season started with questions about Jalen Hurts’ ability to lead this football team. The season ends with let’s get this man healthy. Hurts proved he has what it takes to lead this team into the playoffs. He put together an MVP season and led the Eagles to their first 14 win season in history. Every Eagles fan watched the most successful regular season in franchise history.

The narrative around the team has shifted the last few weeks. The vibe has changed. This is not a good or bad thing. The last three weeks of the season were weird. First, the Jalen injury. Then two weeks of Minshew and an injury to Lane Johnson.

The Eagles needed just one win in their last three games and could barely do that. Although it wasn’t pretty, the job is complete. They secured the one-seed and home-field advantage. Let’s take a look at the players that got us there.

Eagles 2022-23 Regular Season Awards

MVP: Jalen Hurts

Runner-Up: Offensive-Line

Jalen Hurts is the easy MVP choice for this team. The 0-2 record without him certainly proved that. Hurts is having a breakout season in his second year as Philadelphia’s starting quarterback. Hurts finished the season with 3,701 passing yards and 22 passing touchdowns. He added another 760 rushing yards and 13 rushing touchdowns. Jalen was the engine that made this offense go. He moved the ball with ease all season and easily takes home the MVP award.

OPOY: AJ Brown

Runner-Up: DeVonta Smith

AJ Brown is the Eagles offensive player of the year. The addition of Brown made an immediate impact on the Eagles offense, and the chemistry with Hurts was clear from day one. Against New York, Brown set the Eagles single-season receiving record (in 17 games, Quick 16 games). He finished the year with 88 receptions for 1,496 yards. He had 11 touchdowns. Brown just finished a monster first regular season with the Eagles and is on his way to becoming one of the best receivers in franchise history.


DPOY: Haason Reddick

Runner-Up: TJ Edwards

This was another easy decision. The Eagles defensive player of the year is Haason Reddick. Before the season started, I predicted Reddick would be Howie’s best off-season move. There is also an argument for AJ Brown so I will not say I was right, but Reddick was the best player on the Eagles defense all season. The Eagles defensive line has been solid the last few years but was missing an elite edge rusher. Reddick finished the season with 48 tackles, 16 sacks, 5 forced fumbles, and three fumble recoveries. The Camden native proved his worth in the his first season with his hometown Eagles.


ROY: Reed Blankenship

Reed Blankenship is the obvious pick for rookie of the year. Nakobe Dean and Jordan Davis are the only two options, but Blakenship had the most impactful playing time. When CJ Gardner-Johnson went down with an injury, Blakenship came in and didn’t miss a beat. Yes, he has made a few mistakes, but he made plays all over the field every game. In addition, he showed out for being a rookie safety.

ComebackPOY: Brandon Graham

Runner-Up: Miles Sanders

Brandon Graham is the Eagles comeback player of the year. The 34 year old is coming off an Achilles tear, but you would have no idea. Graham has set a career-high with 11 sacks. He has filled right back into his role of wreaking havoc in opposing backfields.


MIP: CJ Gardner-Johnson

Multiple players could have taken this award. Hurts, Sanders, and Josh Sweat have claims. But CJ Gardner-Johnson is the most improved player on this roster. He is tied for the most interceptions in the NFL, even though he only played twelve games. In addition, the defense forced fewer turnovers when CJGJ was injured. He also joined a new team and played a position he had not frequently played. Gardner-Johnson has fit into this defense and city perfectly and was a crucial off-season addition.


COY: Nick Sirianni

Runner-Up: Jeff Stoutland

Nick Sirianni is the Coach of the Year. Really who else would this be? In his second season as the coach, he led his team to the number one seed and a first-round bye. He is the first coach to win 14 games for the Eagles and should be in consideration for NFL coach of the year. Sirianni was impressive in his second year. He managed his players, coaching staff, and the media well all year. He is genuinely learning to become a leader and head coach in the NFL.


Photo Credit: Matt Slocum/AP Photo

Comments are closed.

Check Also

Jalen Hurts Compared to Eagles’ All-Time Best Quarterbacks

Inspired by our recent poll on Twitter/X, the public tends to agree that Jalen Hurts could…