The NFC East hasn’t had a repeat division champion since the 2004 season, when the Philadelphia Eagles, under McNabb and Reid, won 4 straight division titles.

Since then, the division has been won the following times by each team.

  • Eagles – 6x (2006, 2010, 2013, 2017, 2019, 2022)
  • Cowboys – 6x (2007, 2009, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2021)
  • Giants  – 3x (2005, 2008, 2011)
  • Commanders – 3x (2012, 2015, 2020)

While we’re still a few weeks away from Training Camp, we can take a look at each team that’s looking to topple the Eagles from being the repeat champion for the first time in 19 years and why the Eagles will most likely be the team to win the NFC East.

Washington Commanders

  • Last Division Win: 2020
  • 2022 Record: 8-8-1

When the Commanders(then Washington Football Team) last won the NFC East, they made the playoffs as a 7-10 4th seed—losing to the 5th seed Buccaneers(11-5) 31-23 during Wildcard Weekend.

One of the only reasons the Commanders were able to win the NFC East in 2020 was due to the collapse of the Eagles and Cowboys and the fact Joe Judge kept the Giants at the bottom of the League for 2 years.

In 2021, the Commanders finished 3rd in the NFC East. Taylor Heinicke took the reigns as a starter after Ryan Fitzpatrick got injured in Week 1. The Commanders found themselves just short of the playoffs and still didn’t have an answer at Quarterback besides the sometimes-reliable Heinicke.

Fast forward to the 2022 season, and the Commanders decided to be the 2nd team to attempt to fix former Eagles QB Carson Wentz. Finishing 4th in an NFC East that almost had all 4 teams make a playoff appearance, and Wentz only started 8 games as a Commander.

While the Commanders might get to play the 4th position teams in the NFC North and South, the Falcons and Bears are both teams looking to be stronger competitors this season. Are the Commanders to say the same as they enter Training Camp with Sam Howell and Jacoby Brissett both fighting for a starting position?

It’s already been 2 seasons since the Commanders last won the division in what seemed to be a fluke year. How long until they can crown themselves champions of the division? Or will they find themselves below .500 once again?

New York Giants

  • Last Division Win: 2011
  • 2022 Record: 9-7-1

It’s been over a decade since the Giants last won the NFC East. At least they made the most of it, winning Super Bowl XLVI against the Patriots.

Since 2011, the Giants have seen 2 QBs play most of their games. Eli Manning and Daniel Jones. Once Jones became the starter in 2019. Nothing’s truly changed at Metlife.

Manning’s last 5 seasons, 2015-2019. The Giants went 26-41.
Jones’ first 4 seasons, 2019-2022. The Giants went 21-31-1.

It hasn’t all been bad news, Giants. They started the 2022 season 6-2 after all. Indeed a +6 point differential wasn’t a sign of impending doom? After their Week 9 bye, the Giants finished the season 3-5-1. With a 2nd half-point differential of -12. An impressive season at -6 until you see some of the competition. The savior from this number looking catastrophic was a Week 17, 38-10 blowout against the Colts.

One of the many issues the Giants faced in the last few years was a cap crunch. Unfortunately, contracts like Kenny Golladay prevented the Giants from making many moves to go all in during an attempted playoff push. With just over $4 Million in cap space to spend, there’s hope the Giants can add to the roster by the deadline. However, they’ll be in one heck of a position if they can make a push for the NFC East title, as they’ll have $44 Million in cap space next season and 34 Free Agents, including Saquon Barkley.

If the Giants are able to topple the Cowboys or Eagles from clinching the division, there’s a potential going all-in this season may pay off for them. Still, that plan expects Daniel Jones to have another, if not a better 3,205 Yard, 15 Touchdown 5 Interception season.

Dallas Cowboys

  • Last Division Win: 2021
  • 2022 Record: 12-5

It was week 15; the Eagles were 13-1. The Cowboys were 10-3. All they had to do was beat the Jaguars in OT and the Eagles on Christmas Eve, and there’s a real potential the Cowboys were repeat NFC East champions.

Instead, we get to watch this game-ending Pick 6, thrown by yours truly.

Not that it would have mattered; the Cowboys got humiliated in a 26-6 Week 18 loss to the Sam Howell lead Commanders, including his League Leading 15th interception.

Inconsistent play has been one of the many woes of Dak Prescott, on top of a thumb injury and ankle fracture. The Cowboys’ year 8 Quarterback has led the team to 4 playoff appearances and boasts a 2-4 record—something you’d expect to be good for a franchise that’s constantly labeled as Super Bowl contenders.

The Cowboys will be competing for the title of NFC East Champs. It all depends if Tony Pollard is able to carry a larger workload with Zeke’s departure. And if Dak plans on throwing 15 more interceptions.

In both times they met, the Eagles offense had no issue moving the ball, even with Gardner Minshew at Quarterback.

It won’t be long until the Cowboys move on from Dak if they aren’t involved in a deep playoff run sometime soon.

Why Might the Eagles Repeat the Division?

With a long list of Free Agents that have come and gone. The Eagles have done everything they can from the draft, free agency, and players on the trade block to refill what depth they had lost.

They still have 10 Draft picks in 2024 and over $12 million in cap space available. So who said they’re done adding?

If expectations are high, another 12+ win season shouldn’t be off the table.

The Eagles went above and beyond what the Cowboys accomplished with their recent seasons at the top. Regardless of a more difficult schedule on paper, the Eagles’ biggest key to success is the consistency of play from what was observed last season.

But we won’t find out until September 10th, when the regular season finally starts.

Photo: Matt Rourke/AP Photo

Comments are closed.

Check Also

In a Sea of Immense Talent

Over the Next Two Months, Jacob Harris Will Attempt to Make A Roster With the Deepest Wide…